De Verboden Vrucht / Le Fruit Defende

Here’s a list of the beers that I’ve tried around the world, and my stab at giving them all a decent review.  I will be neither scientific nor sappy with any of my reviews; I’ll just leave my best biased opinion.  I’ll keep a running list, so standby for updates.  Cheers, everyone 🙂

1. De Verboden Vrucht / Le Fruit Defende – De Kluis Brewery, Belgium

The beer pours with a dark caramel color, thick head with a swampy sediment at the bottom.  I realize the glass in the photo isn’t the proper medium to be drinking this beer out of, but ordinarily it is served in a “goblet” style glass.  It is very light and crisp at first, and sweet.  After a second, the true ale flavor and high alc. % sets in.

I read a review online about this beer and some person said “ginger bread cake, plum, and raspberry scone with a clove hit”  LOL that’s getting too much into the weeds for me.. Yeah the beer is a bit fruity tasting and you can pick up on a little bit of honey, but overall this is just a strong ale, and I’d recommend it.  I’ll try to find this on tap and provide an update.

Strong flavor… I give it a 7/10 for my personal taste preference.
Leave a Reply

